These Are The Most Common Traps Seeks To Steal Your Information On Facebook
These Are The Most Common Traps Seeks To Steal Your Information On Facebook

Many of us have found on the Internet or social networks an ad that promises to reveal who visited our Facebook profile. So, if you decided to ignore it then it’s fine, but if you win curiosity then beware: It’s a trap set by cyber criminals to steal your information.

These Are The Most Common Traps Seeks To Steal Your Information On Facebook

One of the traps that often Facebook users typically fall is in the promise of a tool that lets you see which people visit your profile. Something that is nothing more than a malicious virus to deceive and steal information from their profiles, according to the security ESET campaigns.

But the same social network says in a page dedicated to common myths about Facebook that “No, Facebook does not allow people to know who’s looking at your profile. Nor is there any third-party application that provides this feature”.

These days you have probably seen a notification on your Facebook, hence, you look at who has viewed your profile. According to the ESET, Facebook never lets you see who has viewed your profile and tools of this type are nothing more than a trick of the cyber criminals.

The virus spreads through victims who have already fallen into the trap and invite their friends to look who have learned to their profile and achieve greater scope for the propagation chain, says the security experts of ESET security.

Once you click on this malicious notification you will be redirected to a false URL to install an extension known as “History Search” which aims to steal the active session of Facebook and then publish on behalf of the victim, says the ESET security.

This tool copies the name of the victim in addition to the Chrome browser which is a legitimate supplement, whose purpose is to show the search history in the browser. Moreover, the ESET security claims that “Although already in 2011 circulated a scam entitled Find out who visits your profile, and now it seems that this possibility attracts many users who are willing to click”.

What if you have fallen into this trap?
The security experts recommend users to immediately uninstall the application from the Chrome menu by going to “More tools” and then the “Extensions” menu and then delete the extension. It is also necessary to alert your contacts so they do not fall into this trap and you must change the password of you Facebook account.

“If you’re downloading an application or game which prompts you to sign in again or to fill out a form to enter sweepstakes, then surely you are trying something malicious,” says the ESET security on its blog about the social security networks.